Pet Photography 101

nature, Pets

I took a Pet Photography 101 workshop with my favorite pet photographer Sue Bird (http://www.photobysuebird.com) at the Ottawa School of Photographic Art (http://spao.ca). It was such a treat to learn from an accomplished photographer, but more importantly, someone who loves and knows how to work with animals. We had dog models to work with – three very, very large great danes. These dogs look so lofty and distinguished. They’re such beautiful creatures. Who knew you can fit three great danes into the back of a Mazda 3?

8 thoughts on “Pet Photography 101

  1. Thanks for the comment Delft. The pet photography workshop spent a lot of time discussing dogs. In particular, getting to know the dog to ensure that you and the dog are safe. Some dogs don’t like flash, some don’t like quick movements and some are bullet proof. The instructor suggested getting as much info about the dog from its owner before the shoot. Also, make sure the dogs are safe by covering any extension cords, tie down light stands, etc.
    I don’t plan on taking pictures of “strange” dogs. I took the workshop so I can take better pictures of my pets. I’ll have to invest in a remote flash and stand so I can hopefully get better results with my cat pictures. The best thing about photography is that I’m always learning.
    Thanks again for your interest.

  2. Sounds like it was a great workshop. I’m sorry I missed it. I really like your b&w photo. If you ever want a model, Congo is always available and I would love to get some pointers from you at the same time!

    Looking forward to seeing more!

    1. Thanks Reena. I would love, love to take some pictures of handsome Congo. He would look great in black and white with his grey muzzle.

  3. Melanie: Can you contact me as we are the couple in the photo and these are our three danes. Kyo died a few weeks after and we’d like you to send us any other photos you have of him. Thank you.

    1. Hello Anna. I’m very sorry to hear about Kyo. He was such a beautiful dog.
      I’ve checked my computer to see if I kept any of the photos from the photography workshop but they’ve all been deleted. Unfortunately, due to computer space any my ability to keep track of photos, I only keep what I’ve worked on. There were about 10 people in the workshop that day and maybe some of the other participants have kept their work.
      It was very kind of you and your dogs to be models at the workshop last year. It was fun to work with Sue Bird – she’s such an amazing photographer and person. It was a joy to meet your pups.
      Again, I’m very sorry to hear about Kyo.
      Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

