September 15 FINAL photo

this and that

Happy Birthday to me!  Last year on my birthday I decided to take on a photo 365 project.  It actually turned into a 366 project because I forgot it was a leap year.  I wanted to force myself to take a picture every day so I would think about and practice my hobby of photography.  When I first started the project I didn’t think about posting my pictures to a blog.  I wanted an easy way for my mum and sister to see what I was up to so I started this photo blog.  I had no idea how big the blogosphere was.  I’ve met and read about some really incredible, talented, funny people.  It’s a wonderful community.  I have never received a rude or creepy comment – all comments were encouraging and heartwarming.  It’s kind of neat to know that someone from next door or on the other side of the planet can take a peek into my daily life.  I’ve bored people to death with my dog and cat pictures – I’m sorry for that but my furry creatures are more patient than people to photograph.  I’ve learned a bit more about photography and have met some incredible photographers that I aspire to be like.    This project worked – I did pick up a camera every day this past year and I also thought about and explored my photography hobby.

Now that the 365/66 project is complete I’m not putting down my camera.  I’ll still take pictures, read and learn more about photography and hopefully will continue to get better.  I’ll post my photos here from time to time but I’ll try to only put up my favorites and not bore people to death with pet and food pictures.

Thanks everyone for your support, comments and likes this past year.  It’s been a fun challenge.

12 thoughts on “September 15 FINAL photo

  1. Congratulations on completing your project!
    I’d be interested to know what you learnt about photography in your year – maybe a post or two on that?

    1. Thanks for your kind wishes. I took a break from the blog world this week after completing the 365. The break was mostly because of too much work and a horrible cold.
      The first thing I learned this past year was to read other peoples blogs and listen and try their advice. One of my favorite blogs is The Pioneer Woman (http://thepioneerwoman.com/photography). She gives wonderful suggestions and sometimes gives the “recipe” for editing a photograph. She also has photo challenges so it’s great to see what some very creative people come up with.
      Another thing I learned was to take my camera off auto focus. It’s sometimes tough getting a sharp picture with my prime lens and aging eyes but when it works the results are worth it.

  2. Congratulations – you are to be commended for your dedication! One day I hope to learn more as well, and like Delft would be interested in hearing what you have learned.

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a fun project but I must admit I’m glad it’s over. I found out that I like taking animal pictures more than people pictures. I’m taking a Pet Photography 101 workshop next month so I’m hoping to learn some more.

  3. Well done! Sorry I only just found you on you final day. I’m on day 208 and I wasn’t even sure I’d get this far! Hope to see some of your stuff over next couple of months.

    1. Thanks so much Roo for visiting my site. I took a break from blogging this week after finally completing my 365.
      I love your photography and lighting. So beautiful.

  4. Congrats on reaching your goal! I, for one, will miss seeing a new photo every day. There have been some great ones in there.
    What are those decorations on your birthday cupcake?

    1. Thanks Anne for being my first follower!

      I got the cupcake at three sisters on kilborne. The top is all sweet icing.

    1. Thanks Texas! I’ll be sure to share more of my furry friend pictures. I can’t resist taking cat pictures – you guys are so beautiful!

      Purrs right back at ya. 🙂

  5. Congrats on reaching the end! I am in the middle of a photography class and this has inspired me to take on my own photo project to really practice what I’ve been learning. Great photos!

    1. Hi Katherine. Thanks so much for your kind wishes. I need to sign up for a class too – probably in the new year. I’m taking a one day workshop next month on pet photography 101 so I’m sure to drive my pets crazy practicing on them.
      I love your photo blog! Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

